Looking for guidance with a career in motorsports

Supraformance

Hey guys, I've been thinking about posting this thread for some time and I figure I'm not doing myself any favors by waiting longer. I am looking for guidance or suggestions in following my dream and pursuing a career in motosports. A little about myself..

My name is Patrick, I'm 25, and I live in Palm Springs, CA. I work as a lab tech at a local hospital. My entire life I have been fascinated with cars and nothing makes me happier than working on my own projects or helping friends in need or spending time at race tracks, especially talking to the drivers and crew about the cars.

Every day I come into work a little piece of me dies inside. I do not want to work in the medical field any longer. I am about to turn 26 and am just now realizing that if I really want to be happy in life I need to pursue my passion and that is to work as an engineer on a race team and travel the world supporting my team, car, and driver at various racing events. The SP8/SP9/Cup cars are really want I am interested in building.