Only 12 RWD Diablos made in 96?

beachbummed

Fox Valley is listing a 96 Diablo here and touting it as only 1 of 12 produced. Is it because of the RWD? If so, and you can easily convert a VT or RWD by removing the front diff, what makes this one so special?

Im sure it works like most of the rest of the AWD cars. You cant just remove the front diff, the VC would burn up in a few hundred miles.

Im sure it works like most of the rest of the AWD cars. You cant just remove the front diff, the VC would burn up in a few hundred miles.

What else is done besides removing the front diff to convert to RWD? (I have no technical knowledge in this area at all.)

What else is done besides removing the front diff to convert to RWD? (I have no technical knowledge in this area at all.)

I'm no technician either, but I guess locking the VC somehow.

Fox Valley is listing a 96 Diablo here and touting it as only 1 of 12 produced. Is it because of the RWD? If so, and you can easily convert a VT or RWD by removing the front diff, what makes this one so special?

Its special, because it was factory.

If the front diff is gone, then the front half axles and front drive shaft are also gone and that is more than is needed to convert to 2WD.

-mick

Would it have different front hubs as well? Anyone converted a normal Diablo to a VT?

There is a black '96 or '97 normal Diablo getting around Sydney somewhere.

I have posted twice over the years on this board, requesting information about the unusual 96 2wd Diablo series. I know that Symbolic, has or had a dark blue 96 D car forsale.

Nobody seems to know the story behind these rare factory 2wd cars. From what I had read, the 96 2wd was offered forsale, as a less expensive alternative to the VT, before the SV was released. I also read that the 2wd "slick" post 93 Diablo, was offered as late as 1998, in other RoW markets.